A felicitation ceremony of National Awardee Teachers of Sikkim

Gangtok, September 11(IPR): The Education Department, Government of Sikkim organised a felicitation ceremony of National Awardee Teachers of Sikkim at Ashirvad Hall, Raj Bhawan, today.
The function was graced by Hon’ble Governor of Sikkim Shri Ganga Prasad as the Chief Guest and Hon’ble Minister of State (MoS) for External Affairs and Education, Government of India, Dr. Rajkumar Ranjan Singh as the Guest of Honour.
The programme was also attended by Hon’ble Minister for Education, Government of Sikkim, Shri Kunga Nima Lepcha, Cabinet Ministers, Hon’ble MP Lok Sabha, Additional Chief Secretary Education Department Shri G.P. Upadhayay, Senior Officials of Education Department, two National Awardee Teachers, Shri Mingma Sherpa and Shri Prem Das Chettri and six previous years awardee teachers as special invitees and teachers and students of Deorali Government Girls Senior Secondary School.
A total of eight teachers who were presented with National Teachers Award by the Government of India from 2018 were felicitated by the Chief Guest, Guest of Honour and Hon’ble Minister.
It may be mentioned that this year, two teachers of the State, namely Shri Mingma Sherpa, Primary Teacher, Government Primary School Lum, North Sikkim and Shri Prem Das Chhetri, PGT Physics, Sir TNSSS, Gangtok, have been conferred with National Teacher’s Award in a virtual programme organised by the Government of India on the occasion of Teachers’ Day.
Along with these two awardees, six teachers who were conferred with National Teachers’ Award from 2018 onwards who were also felicitated on the occasion are as follows:
1.Smt Archana Gurung, Principal Jorethang SSS, South
2.Shri Lomas Dhungel, GT maths Makha SSS, East Sikkim.
3. Smt Hannah Yonzon, Principal Rangpo SSS, East Sikkim.
4. Shri. M.L Koirala Principal Samdong SSS East Sikkim
5. Smt Karma Chomu Bhutia, HM Manul, SS North Sikkim.
6. Smt Mamata Awasthy, HM Dongeythang PS, East Sikkim.
The Hon’ble Governor, Shri Ganga Prasad in his address mentioned that Sikkim being one of the small states has performed well in various sectors. He also expressed gratitude and respect to the teachers who are the guiding light of society. Awards and accolades not only recognize their efforts but also encourage them to perform better in the days ahead, he added. He further expressed that other teachers should also follow in their footsteps and contribute to the nation building process.
The Governor also mentioned that since India is observing Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav, one must not forget the selfless contributions made by the freedom fighters, who have laid down their lives safeguarding the country.
In his address, MoS Dr Rajkumar Ranjan Singh said that since the National Award is being held virtually, he was appraised by the senior Minister to personally meet and felicitate all the National awardee teachers of the North Eastern States starting from Sikkim.
He said that the teachers are the role model who has calibre with different techniques and can productively impact students.
He stated that the purpose of visiting the Awardee States in the North East is to make this National teacher award popular so that it can further inspire other teachers to motivate themselves for the noble cause and greater good of the Nation.
While, re-emphasizing the vision of Hon’ble Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi and the goal of New Education Policy, 2020, the Minister also stressed the need to strengthen the education sector through teachers.
In his address, Hon’ble Minister Shri Kunga Nima Lepcha said that the programme was organised to felicitate the efforts, dedication and hard work put in by the teachers. He also expressed hope that they continue to inspire and guide young minds to further contribute towards enhancing the education sector in the State. He further mentioned that it is through the hard work and outstanding performance of the teachers that the State of Sikkim can perform better in the education sector.
Earlier, ACS Education Department Shri G.P.Upadhayay presented the welcome address, while vote of thanks was proposed by Special Secretary, Education Department, Shri Bhim Thatal.