Strong rooms opening shall be conducted tomorrow morning at 7 am sharp at Brihaspati Parsai Senior Secondary School. All candidates and their election agents are requested to be present at strong room premises with their respective ID Cards to witness the process in presence of Returning officers and general observers for counting. Counting agents will be allowed to enter respective counting halls from 7.45 am and counting shall commence at 8 am sharp as per ECI Rules.

More than 80 CCTV CAMERAS installed inside the counting centre premises including new ones around the public ground which will house the candidates supporters tomorrow.

Information from the DEO East on counting day

Gangtok, 21 May (IPR): District Election Officer, East, Shri Kapil Meena, has informed that all necessary preparations for Counting Day have been made as per the latest rules and directions of Election Commission of India. The required numbers of Counting Officials have been trained in two rounds of training along with training imparted to Micro-Observers. Other important officials including Assistant Returning Officers, support staffs, EVM/VVPAT transport teams, videographers, etc. have been briefed on their roles and responsibilities.

For maintaining law and order, all 10 BDOs are designated as Sector Magistrates for respective blocks to see law and order issues.

The DEO further informed that at the Counting Centre, 10 Sector Magistrates have been deployed for manning various counting halls as well as for law and order at Biraspati Parsai Senior Secondary School ground meant for candidates supporters. The SDM Rongli will be overall Magistrate In-charge for the Counting Centre to supervise the Sector Magistrates.

He also mentioned that each and every vital activity and point inside Counting Centre shall be either covered by CCTVs or will be videographed.

Final briefing for candidates and their election agents held in Gangtok

Gangtok, 21 May (IPR): Final meeting for discussion on arrangements for the counting of votes with the candidates and political representatives was conducted at the conference hall of DAC in Sichey today. The meeting was chaired by DC-cum-DEO, East, Shri Kapil Meena, in the presence of Observers, Shri Kumar Rajeev and Ameyah Abhyankar, SP (East), Shri Hemraj Rai, ADC (East), Shri Bharani Kumar, SDMs and other officials.

The DEO East said that the number of Counting Halls have been increased from 4 to 8 halls at the Biraspati Parsai SSS in order to make the process of counting swift and error free. He also mentioned about the various instructions of Election Commission of India including timely completion and other important guidelines which the attendees need to follow during the process of counting.

The DEO also briefed them extensively on the arrangements of the counting halls and explained at length about the counting of Postal Ballots, counting of Electronically Transmitted Postal Ballots, counting of votes recorded in EVMs, counting of VVPAT slips and compilation of data. He also spoke in depth about the filling of different forms, compilation of data and other necessary procedures to be followed.

While speaking further, the DEO informed that mobile phones and electronic items will be totally prohibited inside the counting halls, however, a separate collection room has been identified for storing of the electronic gadgets.

The DC informed that the candidates’ election agents and counting agents will not be allowed to enter the counting halls without valid identity cards issued by the authority. Similarly, a Media Centre, a Medical Unit Room and a reserve Counting staff room has also been set up inside the complex.

The DEO also informed that the strong room will be opened on 23rd May, 2019 at 7:00 am in presence of Observer, candidates and their election agents and Counting will commence from 8 am sharp. Counting will start with Postal Ballot counting first followed by EVM Counting thereafter. He also stated that the round wise and final results will be announced via loudspeaker which will be placed in all corners of the ground.

It was also informed that the results can be accessed at the ECI website and it will also be updated simultaneously on the Government of Sikkim facebook page as well as DM Gangtok East Sikkim facebook page.

The SP(East) in his address briefed about the security and traffic arrangements for counting day and requested everyone present to cooperate with the security personnel. He urged the political representatives to maintain self-discipline and quorum during the counting period and stated that Section 144 CrPc is still imposed in the whole state and thus to refrain from any kind of unethical activity and no major rallies/procession can be carried out without prior permission from the District Administration.

The DEO East informed that only the designated Counting Agents must come and enter those Counting Halls where counting of their respective Constituencies is taking place. For Sangha AC and 01-Sikkim PC the results will be compiled by East District and the Returning Officer/DM East who shall announce the final results.