Sikkim Child Parliamentarians become Deputy Prime Minister and Minister in National Inclusive Children’s Parliament

Mangan, Jan 31 (IPR): The National Inclusive Children’s Parliament was held from 23rd to 30th January, 2022, with virtual participation from Child Parliamentarians across India. With the presence of Member of Parliaments, Shri Gaurav Gogoi and Shri Hasnain Masoodi, the week-long program culminated on 30th January 2022 promoting Gandhi Ji’s Antodaya.
Ms. Lavomit Lepcha, Prime Minister of Village Level Children’s Parliament, Ringhim Nampatam GPU , student of North Sikkim Academy, Mangan has been elected as the Deputy Prime Minister of National Inclusive Children’s Parliament, 2022. Also, Ms. Bhumika Chettri, Minister of Quality Education of District Level Children’s Parliament, North District, student of Mangan Sr.Sec.School was elected as the Deputy Minister of Sustainable cities and communities.
The District Child Protection Unit, North under Child Protection Scheme, Women and Child Development Department, has been forming Village Level Children’s Parliament in all the GPUs of the District to empower children in the most rural areas by giving them this platform to raise their voices. These Child Parliamentarians have been attending Gram Sabhas and getting involved in the village administration with active support from the Panchayat Presidents who are also the Chairpersons of Village Level Child Protection Committees.
The first Prime Minister from Sikkim to be elected in the National Inclusive Children’s Parliament 2020 was from Hee Gyathang, North Sikkim and every year these Village Level Child Parliamentarians have been participating in the National level Children’s Parliament with the guidance of the DCPO,North, Ms. Wendy Lepcha, who has been coordinating with the convening organization Pratyek, which is a Child Rights Organization working towards meeting the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)